RSS

How the Author of ‘Quiet’ Delivered a Rousing Speech

28 Apr

Dublin's Weekly FindIn this week’s selection of Dublin’s Weekly Find from 3quarksdaily, Susan Cain, author of Quiet, describes her “Year of Speaking Dangerously,” and how she prepared for her  TED Talk.  Click the link at the end of the excerpt (article originally posted on April 27, 2012) below to read the entire article at The New York Times.

I awoke one January morning from uneasy dreams to find myself transformed. For seven blissful years I had spent my time reading, writing and researching a book about introversion. But the publication date had arrived, the idyll was over and my metamorphosis was complete. I was now that impossibly oxymoronic creature: the Public Introvert. Having never given a single media interview in the first 43 years of my life, I appeared that day on “CBS This Morning” to promote my book, a critique of our overly loquacious culture. Then I shuttled uptown to my publisher’s office to continue talking — for 21 radio interviews. My book is about the power of being quiet. About the perils of a society that appreciates good talkers over good ideas. And about the terrible pressure to entertain, to sell ourselves and never to be visibly anxious. I believe all this passionately — which puts me in an interesting pickle. Promoting my work requires doing the very thing my book questions: putting down my pen and picking up a microphone. Now, in what I’ve come to think of as my Year of Speaking Dangerously, I’ve gone on national TV to talk about being the kind of person who dislikes going on national TV. I let my friends talk me into having a big book party, even though my book advises introverts to stay home on New Year’s Eve if they feel like it (I usually feel like it). And in February I took the stage at the 2012 TED conference before an audience of 1,500 people to critique a society that favors the kind of person who craves an audience.

More from The New York Times here.

Posted by Azra Raza of 3quarksdaily at 6:26 AM on April 28, 2012.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 28, 2012 in Dublin's Weekly Find

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
