RSS

Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon 2012

20 Apr

I’m participating in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon 2012.  It’s taking place tomorrow April 21, 2012 and I start reading at 8 am.  Want to know more about it?  Check it out here. My reading list so far includes:

  1. Sacré Bleu by Christopher Moore (I hope to finish this one.)
  2. The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice
  3. Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
  4. Lifeboat No. 8 by Elizabeth Kate
  5. Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman
  6. Turned At Dusk by C.C. Hunter
  7. Short Friday by Isaac Bashevis Singer

And I have several additional books to choose from.  In this event, variety is key.  I’m going for a mix of short stories, young adult books, and quick reads in addition to the novels.  The only book  I hope to finish is Sacré Bleu. I also have a variety of snacks on hand and I plan on having a pizza delivered.  Also, I will get up from the couch frequently for short breaks and I have the laser light primed for the cats so I can play laser tag with them during my breaks. How will you manage this read-a-thon?

Hour 1: Finished Taken at Dusk.  Getting a snack.

Hour 3: Into Good Omens kitten asleep on my lap.

Hour 4: Switching to Short Friday for at least one short story.

Hour 6.5: Read two short stories in Short Friday, ate lunch, patted the cats.  Now back to Sacre Bleu.

Hour: 8.5: Cruising along on Sacre Bleu by Christopher Moore.  Going to order pizza or something.

Hour 11: Wow!  I’m really into Sacre Bleu now.  It really got rolling.  And it is now raining heavily.

Hour 15.5: I did it! I finished Sacre Bleu by Christopher Moore.

Special Update:

BookJourney has pointed out that I do not have a link to one of my causes which is 4Paws Rescue Team.  Here is a pretty graphic and link. (The other is a private library.)

 
21 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Dewey's 24 Hour Read-A-Thon

 

Tags: , ,

21 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon 2012

  1. Lisa's World of Book (@lmm831)

    April 21, 2012 at 8:44 AM

    Welcome to the starting line! I hope that you accomplish what you are hoping too! I will be cheering today so I will see you again!

    Lisa

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 9:27 AM

      Thanks!

       
  2. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)

    April 21, 2012 at 10:17 AM

    May you have a fantastic day of reading!

     
  3. alitareads

    April 21, 2012 at 10:35 AM

    Looks like you’re off to a great start – congrats on finishing your first book! Have a fun readathon day 🙂

     
  4. Jen Dublin

    April 21, 2012 at 11:23 AM

    Thanks everyone!

     
  5. Joy Weese Moll (@joyweesemoll)

    April 21, 2012 at 12:08 PM

    Here to cheer! Looks like you’re off to a great start — and already tired out the kitten! Great job!

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 1:02 PM

      Thanks! I think said kitten is waking up though.

       
  6. Shaunesay

    April 21, 2012 at 2:51 PM

    Sounds like you’re having a great read-a-thon so far! I have cat helpers as well, sometimes they’re not as helpful as they think! 😉 They get very irritated at me that I move around so much.

    Keep up the great reading and enjoy yourself! So glad you could join us today!

    — Shaunie (Team Mercutio)

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 4:24 PM

      Yes, I think they’re confused today. I’m glad I chose to do this today. Awesome!

       
  7. Caitlin

    April 21, 2012 at 2:52 PM

    I love the background on your blog!

    Have a good readathon!

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 4:25 PM

      Thanks!

      So far so good. I’m going by pages read instead of books, so it’s not as frustrating this time around.

       
  8. Laura @ Bunny Tales

    April 21, 2012 at 4:25 PM

    wow you are doing so great!! And I’m sure the cats are happy they are in the mix too. I have 4 asleep around me and one trying to sleep on me. but he’s mad cuz my typing makes him bounce 🙂

    Keep updating us! Great job!

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 4:26 PM

      Oh that’s too much! lol.

       
  9. Sheila (Book Journey)

    April 21, 2012 at 5:32 PM

    Awesome – thanks for putting up a link – I made a donation to 4 Paws. I have a huge heart for animals. Happy reading!

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 6:58 PM

      Wow! Thanks so much! I made a donation to your cause, too. Good stuff.

       
  10. Lisa Jo

    April 21, 2012 at 5:46 PM

    Good luck! I love Christopher Moore…perfect reading for a read-a-thon! His novels are kinda light and funny! And of course, you have to love the title! 😀

    Have fun!

    Lisa Jo a/k/a Lizajean85 on Twitter! 😀

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 6:59 PM

      Yes. His stuff is always wacky. Sacre Bleu is no exception 🙂

       
  11. tanabata

    April 21, 2012 at 6:10 PM

    WordPress didn’t want to let me comment earlier, but let’s try this again…

    Sounds like it’s going well! Here, if it’s not one cat meowing for attention, the other one is looking at me with mournful eyes waiting for a lap to curl up on. I think it’s time I got back to reading. Good luck with the rest of your readathon!

     
    • Jen Dublin

      April 21, 2012 at 6:59 PM

      Yes, give kitty a lap!

       
  12. Jencey

    April 21, 2012 at 7:08 PM

    Have fun continuing to read!

     
  13. Jen Dublin

    April 21, 2012 at 8:58 PM

    Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
